September 20, 2007

Quit and Knit!

Posted in Fiber Art, God, Jesus, Positive thinking, Quit and Knit at 3:42 am by sewhisword

Yes, you can quit and knit! HELLO!

In 1984, I smoked a pack a day, but I also moved to Vermont to be a ski bum for a ski season. I met a new friend — Sally from NYC — and she told me that she quit smoking when she moved to Vermont. She told me to pick a date to quit and it would help me to quit too. I gave this some thought…

One day, a few weeks later, I asked God to give me a new habit to relace my stupid habit of smoking and left it at that, fully knowing that God would work a miracle if it was His Will. Since it was so cold in Vermont, I decided to visit the local yarn shop in Stowe to buy some wool to crochet a blanket. For some reason, I asked the store owner if she gave knitting lessons, but she discouraged me and said my crochet habit would keep me from learning how to knit. Unfortunately, I believed her…

A few months later, I just happened to be shopping and stopped in a Norwegian store and noticed that the shop owner (who was from Norway and who had been a knitter for over 40 years) was giving knitting lessons. She asked me if I wanted to take her class and I told her about my crochet problem. She told me that what that woman in Stowe told me was nonsense, and that I definitely could learn how to knit. The rest is history. I took her class and have been knitting every since.

Oh, by the way, I quite smoking at the same time. When you knit on circular needles like the Norwegians do, you tend to light your cigarette only to find that by the time you finish one row of your Norwegian sweater (about 225-stitches around), the dumb cigarette is just about burned out.

God answered my prayer and it was a “win-win.” I not only quit the nasty habit over 22 years ago, cold turkey without any withdrawals, but I also made many hats, mittens and sweaters for myself and family members. I kept knitting and never looked back.

Only God could think of Quit and Knit!

2 Comments »

  1. I love it! God is so creative! And good! What a blessing to have had the 22 years of a good habit at the expense of the bad one. I love to knit but can’t over do it because of carpel tunnel syndrome. I have often thought that the cts was actually a blessing that keeps me from knitting, hand sewing, etc. when I need to do other things. It helps balance this naturally compulsive person, at least some:)
    May you be blessed this year!

  2. I just now read the comment on your next post that I made some time ago. I mentioned the carpel tunnel syndrome in it too. I didn’t realized I was so fixated on it! May be it is a “blessing” I am not honestly thankful for in my heart? I will work on it… my attitude that is.


Leave a Reply

