May 28, 2007

Majestic Glory

Posted in Fiber Art, God, Jesus, Painting, Photography, Positive thinking at 1:10 am by sewhisword


God has many names throughout the Bible and after researching His many Names, one that is meaningful to me is Majestic Glory.  I recently made a small art quilt and decided to name it Majestic Glory.  This particular name can be found in the Bible in the following verse: II Peter 1:17:  

“For he received honor and glory from God the Father when the voice came to him from the Majestic Glory, saying, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.” NIV

The quilt depicts a purple mountain scene with grassy areas painted with threads, embroidered french knot flowers, and beaded flowers in the foreground.  As I made the quilt, I kept being reminded of God’s Majesty and Glory.  I printed His Name – Majestic Glory – onto silk, painted it with gold fabric paint, and hand-stitched  the silk piece onto the quilt. 

This quilt was made to glorify Him.    

2 Comments »

  1. Kathleen said,

    Hi Susan,
    Your quilt is just so beautiful! I came here from your Flikr photostream, which I got to by Karen’s photostream, which I got to by her commenting on some of my contact’s photos/artwork (like Molly Jean Henson). Round about way, but I was very glad to see your wonderful work! It is so beautiful!

  2. Hi Susan, This piece is gorgeous! I showcased it on my flickr using a mosaic. The mosaic came out beautiful with the four views of this one and your flower photos. Stop by and mark it as a fav for your own favorites. I also filed it in the set My Sister Made This. Stop by that set and see all the wonderful comments. Love Karen


Leave a Reply

